Second Editions is a record label for contemporary music.
Distribution is being handled by Morr Music Distribution GmbH (Europe/World) and Forced Exposure (United States).

Catalog 008 007 006 005 004 003 002 001 / Information, Ordering, Newsletter 

Lori Goldston – Things Opening
Second Editions 007 / LP / Edition of 300 / 880918235714 / November 22 2019

Second Editions is pleased to present Things Opening by Lori Goldston.

Lori Goldston's approach to the violoncello is true and immediate. Describing herself as "classically trained and rigorously de-trained", Goldston indeed defies all conformities of genre, style and technique. Her playing reflects as much of Baroque as it does of American roots or experimental traditions. It is elegant, gritty, restless, delicate, irreverent, utterly pure. This album comprises of two parts, highlighting Goldston as both a distinct composer as well as a many-faceted performer. The first side holds a suite of songs written by Goldston to accompany the poems of Melinda Mueller, while the second features pieces written for Goldston by Jessika Kenney, Satchel Henneman and Julio Lopezhiler.

Available Anost Forced Exposure

A01 The Dust Of A Thousand Bells (03:04)
A02 Marian The Copt (03:16)
A03 Love’s Bitter Strings (Bonnie Jean Cameron) (02:13)
A04 Her Daughter (02:14)
A05 Offertorium (For Matthew) (03:00)
composed by Lori Goldston
commissioned by Entre Rios Books in collaboration with their publication of Melinda Mueller’s book of poems "Mary’s Dust"
B01 Sisters (An Interpretive Scansion Of The Call To Prayer) – composed by Jessika Kenney (06:48)
B02 Lori Goldston – composed by Satchel Henneman (03:44)
B03 Things Opening (For Lori) – composed by Julio Lopezhiler (04:29)

Lori Goldston – violoncello
Recorded live by Mell Dettmer at the Chapel Performance Space and at Studio Soli in Seattle WA, 2018. Mastered and cut by Anne Taegert at Duplates & Mastering in Berlin, 2019. Photograph by Antonis Theodoridis, 2016.